Lock blocks to prevent accidental edits

Content blocks can be locked to prevent accidental edits. A locked block can't be:

  • Moved
  • Resized
  • Selected with drag selection
  • Selected with keyboard shortcuts, such as ⌘ A on macOS or Ctrl A on Windows
  • Deleted with keyboard shortcuts

To lock a block, select it and click the Lock icon in the toolbar. You can also press ⌘ L on macOS or Ctrl L on Windows.

For other selection, movement, and editing controls, see Working with blocks.

Access locked blocks through Layers

Locked blocks are still accessible through the Layers panel. Click Layers in the editor's right sidebar, then click a layer to select its block—even when it is locked.

To unlock a block, hover over its layer and click Unlock block (the lock icon). You can then move, resize, and edit it again. The close-up below shows the lock and visibility controls beside a layer:

Close-up of the Layers panel showing the lock and visibility controls beside the Warranty group