Collaboration / shared editing

You can invite others to review, present or edit your presentations. To invite your first collaborator, click the Collaborate symbol in the top right corner of the editor. If the person you invite does not already have a Slides account, they will be prompted to sign up for one for free.

Add a collaborator dialog with email and role fields

Permissions

Collaborators can have one of the following roles:

  • Viewer: can comment

  • Presenter: can comment and present

  • Editor: can comment, present and edit the presentation

  • Admin: can add or remove collaborators (only available on the Team plan)

To change an existing collaborator's role, select their avatar. You can also remove them from the presentation to revoke their access.

Collaborator role and removal options

Comments

Once you have added a collaborator you can click the collaboration symbol to reveal the comments panel. All comments are made on the currently active slide, and you can see which slide a comment is associated with in the comment thread.

Comments panel open beside a presentation in the editor

Comment notifications

We show a notification in the top right corner when new comments are made, click on it to jump directly to the related slide. If there's activity while a collaborator is offline, we send them a summary of what they missed via email.

Editing comments

You can edit or delete a comment by hovering over it and pressing the cogwheel symbol.

Edit and delete options for a comment

Collaborator presence

A complete list of everyone that has been added to a deck is available in the sidebar, including online/offline status. People who are viewing the same slide as you are grouped together within a green outline.

Collaborators grouped by the slide they are viewing

Review mode

If you aren't currently editing, or you don't have permission to edit, you'll see a page optimized for leaving feedback and discussion. This page works well from mobile devices too, so that you can leave feedback on the go.

In the top left corner you can see if anyone is currently editing, and which slide they are on.

Presentation review mode with comments