All about blacklisting on Instagram

You can protect yourself from inappropriate communication by using the blocking option. The list of blocked accounts in Instagram is called Blacklist. Blocked users can no longer see your posts, your actual stories, they are deprived of the right to write comments to your posts, their pages will never appear in the list of recommended, they will not find your account in the search even if they typed the nickname correctly.

When you blacklist an account, it's a reciprocal blacklist. You will also lose access to the user page. The "subscribe" service will be unavailable to you; this button is now replaced by "unblock". Current stories, comments and publications of the user will also be unavailable to you.

 

 

Consequences of blacklisting an account:

  • The likes and comments left by the user under your posts will disappear;
  • When searching by hashtags or geolocation, the blocked person won't see your page;
  • Publications will not appear in recommendations;
  • If you leave a comment under any post, a blocked person will see it;
  • A blocked account may link to your profile in their own posts or stories, but you will not be notified about this;
  • Not available to both parties to send direct mail messages;
  • The blacklisted person's page is no longer available to you in search and recommendations;
  • The blocked person's account will be completely hidden.

 

With Blacklist, you will continue to keep an open account, but protect yourself from unwanted comments and spam.

Where in Instagram is the blacklist and how to view it

In Instagram, you can view a list of blocked contacts. This feature is available for both mobile devices and for the computer. Blacklist users can be found in the privacy settings of the account.

 

How to view on Android

The list of blocked accounts on Android-based mobile devices, is placed in the privacy settings, in the "Accounts" subsection.

 

 

How to view the list of blocked accounts:

  • Open the social network Instagram;
  • Login to your account;
  • Go to "menu."
  • In the upper right corner of the screen, click on the button - three horizontal dashes on the right;
  • Go to the settings section with the "gear" icon;
  • Go to the "Privacy" section;
  • Select "Blocked accounts" from the list;
  • A list of blocked accounts will appear.

There may be a problem - the user is not on the blacklist. However, you remember exactly that you blocked this page. If you want to know how to see who someone recently followed on Instagram so use some services. If this is the case, you need to check the "dumb mode". Most likely the account got there by mistake, as the "Block user" button is located next to the "Restrict access" item.

 

How to see the black list on iOS (iPhone, iPad)

IOS-based devices also have the ability to view blocked pages. To do this:

 

  • Open the Instagram app;
  • Authorize;
  • Login to your account;
  • Click on the "menu" button;
  • Open the "gear" settings section;
  • Select the "Privacy" section;
  • Tap on "Blocked accounts."
  • A list of blocked accounts will open.

How to view Blackouts on your computer

For the desktop version of the social network Instagram does not have a function to view the list of blocked users. Accordingly, you can remove users from Blacklist using a computer only after visiting his page.

 

How to do it:

  • log in to the desktop version of Instagram;
  • sign in;
  • enter your profile;
  • type their username in the search box;
  • go to the user's page;
  • click the "Unblock" button.

Despite not being able to view the list of blocked pages, you can use your computer to add an account to Blacklist at any time.

 

How to add a user to the Blacklist in Instagram using a computer:

 

  • launch any browser on your computer;
  • go to Instagram.com;
  • run the social networking version of Instagram on your computer;
  • log in by entering your username and password;
  • enter your profile;
  • go to the page of the user of interest;
  • click on the "three dots" button next to the "subscribe" button;
  • click on the button "block the user;
  • confirm your action - tap on the button "block".

The web page Instagram, the official application for Windows10, or mobile Instagram, running through the emulator, will allow you to view the blacklist via your computer.

What you need to do:

 

  • Open the social network Instagram on your computer;
  • Log in by entering your username and password;
  • enter your profile;
  • click on the human icon at the bottom right;
  • go to your personal profile;
  • click on the "gear" icon;
  • enter the "settings" section;
  • select Privacy and Security;
  • go down to the bottom of the page;
  • Click on "View account details";
  • in the "Contacts" section, click "Blocked contacts";
  • the list of blocked users will appear.

To block a user:

 

  • Log in to the social network Instagram;
  • Enter your username and password;
  • Go to your profile;
  • Open the page of the user you want to block;
  • Click on the three horizontal dots in the upper right corner;
  • Select "Block";

Click on the "Block" button.

Instragram also has a feature that restricts access to the page.- "Restricted Accounts". This is a service that prevents users from being notified of new events on your page. You can put pages there that will be temporarily or permanently without notifications. That is, with a normal lock, you can't send messages, you can't see your publications, or even comments. In restricted mode, you can view posts and reviews, but they will not automatically appear when the feed is updated.

How to remove a person from the blacklist

The function to remove an account from the blacklist is only available in the mobile version of the app. How to do it:

 

  • Open the social networking app Instagram;
  • Authorize by entering your username and password;
  • Log in to your account;
  • In the top right corner, click on the button with horizontal dashes - open the "menu";
  • Go to the settings section - the "gear" button;
  • Go to the "Privacy" section;
  • Select "Blocked accounts";
  • A list of blocked accounts will appear;
  • Select the profile of the user you're interested in;
  • Go to their page;
  • Click the "Unblock" button;

There is no function to remove all users from the Blacklist. You can clear Blacklist completely only by deleting each profile from it.

If for some reason it is not possible to remove the account from Blacklist, use the application Cleaner for Instagram. Universal utility, suitable for Android and iPhone.

 

How to know who I'm in the blacklist in Instagram

Instagram hasn't made provisions for sending notifications that you've been blocked. So unless you have a dialogue with a user left in direct, you won't know about the block. You can only see that you have been added to the Blacklist by visiting the user's page.

 

You will be able to open a blocked page, but:

  • The page will show the number of publications, the number of subscriptions and subscribers. By clicking on these buttons nothing will happen. All information is now inaccessible;
  • Publications and actual stories are not visible. The page looks empty;
  • Clicking on the "Subscribe" button, nothing happens.

The send messages function remains available to you. The direct will open and the box to enter a message will appear. The message will leave from you, but it will hang in transit and the recipient will not receive it. You will not get a read-receipt notification.

 

These signs indicate that you have been banned

After you have been blocked, the user's page will not be visible. You can verify that you have been blocked through your computer. To do this, view the page through the browser in "incognito" mode. To do this:

 

  • Open the browser on your computer;
  • Turn on incognito mode;
  • Click on the three dots in the upper right corner;
  • Tap on the "new window in incognito mode" button;
  • Go to Instagram.com;
  • In the search bar, enter the name of the account;
  • Go to the page of the user who blocked you.

 

All about blacklisting on Instagram

By malkolmmark

All about blacklisting on Instagram

  • 23

More from malkolmmark