Organizers

Rachel Street rstreet@lco.global

Federica Bianco fbianco@udel.edu  with help from

Weixiang Yu wy73@drexel.edu

Gordon Richards gtr@physics.drexel.edu

Will Clarkson wiclarks@umich.edu

Fabio Ragosta fabio.ragosta@inaf.it

Xiaolong Li  lixl@udel.edu

Peter Yoachim  yoachim@uw.edu

Sugata Kaviraj s.kaviraj@herts.ac.uk

Peregrine McGehee peregrine.mcgehee@gmail.com

John Gizis gizis@udel.edu

Aprajita Verma aprajita.verma@physics.ox.ac.uk

Timo Anguita tanguita@gmail.com

David Trilling David.Trilling@nau.edu

Chad Schafer cschafer@cmu.edu

Rachel Mandelbaum rmandelb@andrew.cmu.edu 

Melissa Graham melissalynngraham@gmail.com

thank you!!

thank you!!

50 signed up (all spots available!) 

Participants

thank you!!

Participants

thank you!!

Participants

thank you!!

Participants

items in color are "plenary" sessions

how will the hackathon work?

schedule

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/16PDkx_CUJqaToTrEmEXIN4U882WKsNCpCfL672tVPco/edit?usp=sharing

how will the hackathon work?

communication

no emails: use slack for written communication

#2020-metrics-hackathon

Breakouts

yotribe

password:

rubin

Plenaries: zoom 81096488021

password: 81096488021

 

(links are pinned on slack)

how will the hackathon work?

communication

Breakouts

yotribe

password:

rubin

how will the hackathon work?

(links are pinned on slack)

communication

we will organize breakout groups based on similar metrics

(after the plenary)

we will name areas by observatory

e.g. I am in paranal =>

how will the hackathon work?

(links are pinned on slack)

communication

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/16PDkx_CUJqaToTrEmEXIN4U882WKsNCpCfL672tVPco/edit?usp=sharing

if your group is stuck on a coding or similarly technical question, reach out to a mentor

 

if you have MAF experience sign up as a mentor please!

 

how will the hackathon work?

(links are pinned on slack)

communication

Rubin OpSim and the SCOC

Rubin LSST survey design

November 2018, call for white papers

April 2019, SAC recommandations

Rubin LSST survey design

Lynne Jones and Peter Yoachim  prepared the simulations

Rubin LSST survey design

Rubin LSST survey design

Rubin OpSim and the SCOC

we now also have FBS 1.6 available - thank you Lynne and Peter!

Rubin OpSim and the SCOC

OpSim discussion at the PCW

Survey Cadence Optimization Committee

SCOC

 

SCOC: expert, transparent, diverse, inclusive

Report from Project to SCOC...........................

workshop to engage w the community...............

SCOC report on initial strategy........................

Simulation of initial strategy............................

workshop to fine-tune initial strategy.................

simulation of the final strategy.......................

Start of LSST Operations..................................

at PCW 2020
early 2021

late 2021

Feb 2022

Summer 2022

Late 2022

2023

Survey Cadence Optimization Committee

SCOC

 

Survey Cadence Optimization Committee

SCOC

 

Gordon Richards+Weixiang Yu . sciserv.org demo

today's plan

Peter Yoachim................MAF demo

Rachel Street......available and proposed MAFs

Breakout organization

 

 

Hacking - Hacking - Hacking - Hacking - Hacking - Hacking  .....

Quick status report from each group/hacker

tomorrow's plan

Organizers check with each group and collect material

Hacking | Discussion of "boundary conditions"

 

Hacking - Hacking - Hacking - Hacking - Hacking - Hacking  .....

Wednesday 

Organizers report at the PCW OpSim session

Rubin Metrics Hackathon 2020

By federica bianco

Rubin Metrics Hackathon 2020

rubin metrics hackathon pre 2020PCW

  • 669